Trucking News Online

Truck Dealer of the Year Award Goes to Former ATD Chairman

January 28, 2014 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Image, News

R. Kyle Treadway, former chairman of the American Truck Dealers (ATD), and president, dealer principal and legal council of Kenworth Sales Co. in West Valley, Utah, has received the 2014 Truck Dealer of the Year award.

The national award, co-sponsored by ATD and Heavy Duty Trucking magazine, was made during the opening general session of the 51st annual ATD Convention & Expo, underway in New Orleans. Treadway was among a select group of six nominated dealers from across the country.

ATD Chairman Dick Witcher said Treadway was an ideal candidate for Dealer of the Year because of his dealership performance and his civic and industry contributions. Since 2005, Treadway has served in various leadership positions for both ATD and the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA).

In accepting the award, Treadway noted the achievements of the other nominees — including runner-up William K. Reilley Sr., CEO of Lakeside International Trucks of Milwaukee, Wis. Other contenders for the Truck Dealer of the Year were: Timothy J. Fyda, president and CEO, Fyda Freightliner in Ohio and Pennsylvania; William Don Larson, CEO and owner, Allstate Peterbilt Group, Wayzata, Minn.; Michael P. McMahon, CEO, McMahon Truck Center, Charlotte, N.C.; and Donald L. Sherwood, dealer principal of Sherwood Freightliner, Sterling and Western Star, in Dunmore, Pa.

State, metropolitan and national association leaders selected nominees for the annual award. They were evaluated on dealership performance, industry leadership and civic contributions. A panel of professors from Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business chose the winner and runner-up.

The ATD convention, which runs concurrently with the NADA Convention & Expo, concluded Monday.