Trucking News Online

TCA Honors Maverick Transportation VP for Safety Achievements

May 5, 2015 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Image, News, Safety

The Truckload Carriers Association’s (TCA) on Monday presented the organization’s 2015 Clare C. Casey Award to Dean Newell, vice president of safety and training for Maverick Transportation, of North Little Rock, Ark.

The award was presented at TCA’s annual Safety & Security Division meeting in Charlotte, N.C. and is given to a safety professional whose actions and achievements have had a profound and positive benefit or contribution to better safety on our highways.

Newell has been employed by Maverick Transportation for more than 30 years. He began as a professional truck driver and then held positions in recruiting, driver services and safety. Today, he manages a fleet of more than 1,400 tractors and 2,000 trailers as well as oversees eight terminal/facility locations and eight on-site loading and securement locations that employ over 1,500 people.

Newell has developed a reputation for assembling the best possible teams and making effective leadership decisions. He has won many distinguished awards, including the American Trucking Associations’ (ATA) National Safety Director of the Year award, the Arkansas Trucking Association’s (ArTA) Safety Director of the Year, and numerous safety awards from Maverick during his years as a driver.

Under Newell’s leadership, Maverick Transportation has earned more than 30 industry awards from such organizations as ATA’s Safety Management Council, ArTA, the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission, as well as from several insurance companies.

Throughout the years, Newell has held numerous volunteer positions, most notably as chairman of the ArTA Truck Driving Championships, chairman of the ATA National Accident Review Committee, and twice chairman of the ArTA Safety & Loss Prevention Management Council.

He has also been active with the Risk and Insurance Management Society, the North American Transportation Management Institute, the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance, and the Transportation Research Board, among other organizations.