Trucking News Online

Finalists Chosen for ‘Distinguished Woman in Logistics’ Award

March 1, 2016 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Fleet Management, Image, News

The Women In Trucking (WIT) Association has named finalists for the second annual “Distinguished Woman in Logistics” award established to promote the achievements of women employed in the North American transportation industry.

Finalists for the award are Elizabeth Fretheim, director of logistics sustainability at Walmart; Liz Lasater, chief executive officer of Red Arrow Logistics; and Shelley Simpson, chief marketing officer, executive vice president and president of integrated capacity solutions and truck for J.B. Hunt Transport Services Inc.

The winner will be announced by joint program sponsors TMW Systems and on behalf of WIT on Friday, April 8, during the Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA) 2016 “Capital Ideas” Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas.

The award highlights the vital roles of leading women in the dynamic and increasingly influential field of commercial transportation and logistics, which encompasses both logistics service providers as well as motor carriers.

The finalists for the 2016 “Distinguished Woman in Logistics” award lead businesses or operating units that have achieved significant regional, national and/or global scale and which serve many of the industry’s premier shippers as transportation service providers. Each has demonstrated superior leadership within their company as well as with other professional, educational or philanthropic organizations.

Finalists were selected from an extensive field of high-performing women representing warehousing, traffic and shipping, third-party logistics, supply chain management and related functional disciplines. Members of the judging panel were: Kate Miller, president, Blue Edge Marketing Ltd.; Diane A. Mollenkopf, Ph.D., McCormick associate professor of logistics and director, Ph.D. program in supply chain management, University of Tennessee; Fred Moody, editor and publisher, Logistics Quarterly; and Ellen Voie, CAE, president and CEO, Women in Trucking Inc.