Trucking News Online

ATA Narrows Its America’s Road Team List Down to 33 Finalists

October 26, 2016 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Fleet Management, Image, News, Safety
ATA Narrows Its America’s Road Team List Down to 33 Finalists

The American Trucking Associations (ATA) has named 33 professional truck drivers as finalists in the selection process to become captains on the 2017-2018 America’s Road Team.

“These professional drivers were chosen as finalists for America’s Road Team because they are proven industry ambassadors with long safety records and professionalism that projects a positive image of our industry’s 3.5 million truck drivers,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear.

“America’s Road Team will continue to serve as a voice for the trucking industry and build on its 30-year legacy of educating the public on highway safety and the trucking industry’s important role in our economy. We are honored to have these finalists participate in this prestigious selection process and I look forward to meeting them in January.”

America’s Road Team, a group of professional truck drivers with superior safety records, was created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks.

The 33 professional truck drivers now move on to the final round of the selection process, which will be held Jan. 8-12 in Arlington, Va. A panel of industry officials and trucking news media will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record. The finalists — with a combined total of 77.6 million safe-driving miles and 893 years as professional truck drivers — are highway safety experts eager to share their message with the motoring public.

The newly chosen 2017-2018 America’s Road Team will be announced on Jan. 12. New captains, after receiving their signature navy blue America’s Road Team blazer, will begin working to share the industry’s message of safety, essentiality and sustainability with the motoring public, media, business groups, public officials and their fellow truck drivers around the country.

“Being named a finalist for America’s Road Team is a major achievement for professional truck drivers and ATA congratulates each of them for this accomplishment,” said Elizabeth Barna, ATA’s chief operating officer and executive vice president of industry affairs. “On this list you’ll find drivers with millions of safe-driving miles, state truck driving championship winners, community leaders and role models in their companies.”

The finalists include:

Steve Brand, FedEx Freight, Union, Ohio

Jon Brockway, Walmart Transportation, Westbrook, Maine

Brad Coffey, TCW, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Bobby Covert, UPS Freight, Lexington, Kentucky

Scott Davis, ABF Freight, Kearney, Missouri

Duane Donner, Walmart Transportation, Litchfield Park, Arizona

Donald Forrest, FedEx Freight, Winter Haven, Florida

John Gaddy, Carbon Express, Asbury, New Jersey

  1. Scott Harrison, K-Limited Carriers, Cincinnati, Ohio

Rhonda Hartman, Old Dominion Freight Line, Des Moines, Iowa

Gary Helms, Covenant Transport, Cleveland, Tennessee

Duane “Rusty” Holmes, UPS Freight, Odenville, Alabama

Bill Krouse, YRC Freight, Shakopee, Minnesota

David Livingston, TCW, Springfield, Georgia

Charles Lobsiger, Walmart Transportation, Alachua, Florida

Ronnie Luckadoo, UPS Freight, Forest City, North Carolina

Thomas McIntosh, YRC Freight, Aurora, Colorado

Tim Melody, ABF Freight, Payette, Idaho

James Moore, Saia LTL Freight, Magnolia, Texas

Chris Outen, FedEx Freight, Vancouver, Washington

Charlton Paul Jr., UPS Freight, Chester, New York

Jeff Payne, Reddaway, Cedar City, Utah

James Quarles, Walmart Transportation, Laurens, South Carolina

Larry Rhein, FedEx Freight, Harrison, Arkansas

Stephen Richardson, Big G Express, Decatur, Alabama

Michael Sheeds, Werner Enterprises, Bandera, Texas

Steven Smalley, ABF Freight, Mesa, Arizona

Gary Smith, Garner Trucking, Gomer, Ohio

James Starr, Groendyke Transport, Wichita, Kansas

Chris Sutton, UPS Freight, Erie, Pennsylvania

Barney “Earl” Taylor, Penske Logistics, Orlando, Florida

Tim Taylor, FedEx Freight, Valdosta, Georgia

Jimmie Wisley, YRC Freight, Wichita, Kansas.