Trucking News Online

ATA Honors Trucking’s Movers and Shakers at MCE in Las Vegas

October 5, 2016 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Fleet Management, Image, News
Iowa Motor Truck‘s Brenda Neville, center, was honored with the American Trucking Associations' TAEC President’s Federation Award in Las Vegas. Iowa Motor Truck‘s Brenda Neville, center, was honored with the American Trucking Associations' TAEC President’s Federation Award in Las Vegas.

Sprinkled throughout the four-day ATA Management Conference & Exhibition in Las Vegas this week, the American Trucking Association heaped praise and thanks on a number of its members.

The conference, which ended Tuesday, honored Iowa Motor Truck Association President Brenda Neville, who was named the 15th recipient of the ATA’s President’s Trucking Association Executives Council (TAEC) Leadership Award.

“Brenda is a passionate and dedicated leader for our industry,” said Incoming ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express Inc. “Her work in Iowa has been an example for state association executives across the country to follow, and we are proud to see her recognized with this award.”

As head of IMTA, Neville led a successful campaign to raise Iowa’s gas tax, has overseen the Iowa Motor Carriers Foundation that has distributed $180,000 in scholarships to young Iowans, and is an ardent supporter of ATA.

She is also an annual participant in the Call on Washington program, has worked closely with LEAD ATA to develop future industry leaders and has on several occasions come to Washington to participate in ATA’s state executive orientation program to help educate new state executives on how to run their association.

TAEC is comprised of staff executives of state trucking associations and conferences affiliated with the ATA. TAEC serves to promote the trucking industry; contribute to the improvement of the associations and organizations established to serve the trucking industry; and advance the professional stature and capabilities of the managers and executives of such associations.

In another recognition of ATA members who contribute to the federation’s image and outreach campaigns, the conference honored professionals serving on America’s Road Team and Share the Road.

“Every year, millions of Americans are exposed to the message of safety and essentiality by our America’s Road Team and Share the Road professionals,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “The work of these fine individuals in telling our industry’s story is only possible through the generous support of their carriers, but also the support of our sponsors and supporters and we are grateful for both.”

The Share the Road highway safety program reaches millions of drivers each year to convey the message of how to safely and responsibly drive around large trucks. The program is sponsored by Mack Trucks Inc., and is supported by Hyundai Translead, OmniTracs, SmartDrive, Spireon, Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems, Mack Leasing, TA/Petro and PrePass.

America’s Road Team is exclusively sponsored by Volvo Trucks. This team of professional drivers share the message of safety and essentiality of the trucking industry with millions of people each year, including students,

Interstate One, ATA’s image show truck, is pulled by a Volvo VNL 780 and travels the country with its mobile classroom and simulator, giving the public an up-close look at the trucking industry. It is sponsored by Volvo Trucks, and supported by Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems, Omnitracs, TA/Petro, and U.S. Legal Services.

“The work of our Road Team and Share the Road professionals would not be possible without the assistances of our sponsors and supporters,” said Elisabeth Barna, ATA COO and executive vice president for industry affairs. “They, along with our drivers’ employers, allow ATA to reach millions of Americans with a message of safety and essentiality and we thank them for their contributions.”

Finally, ATA honored a state trucking association, a motor carrier, an allied company and an individual with presentation of its 10th annual Mike Russell Trucking Industry Image Award. The award honors trucking companies, state associations and industry suppliers that generate positive awareness of the trucking industry.

“The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award honors motor carriers, industry suppliers, associations and individuals who go above and beyond in drawing positive attention to our industry,” said Incoming ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president of Jet Express Inc. “We can all tout the great things our companies and employees are doing for the community, but this award is ‘for those who best promote the trucking industry.’”

This year’s winners were:

  • The Iowa Motor Truck Association for developing an innovative campaign to encourage its members to promote the industry by awarding points for various activities;
  • Help Inc., whose support of ATA’s Share the Road program, National Truck Driver Appreciation Week, Truckers Against Trafficking and the efforts of our state trucking associations, along with a series of safety quizzes promoted a positive safety message for the trucking industry;
  • Garner Trucking Inc., for its extensive community engagement, including generous support of Trucking Moves America Forward and participation in the trailer wrap program, offering technician scholarships and sponsoring their local American Legion baseball team, participating in the inaugural class of LEAD ATA, and delivering water to Flint, Mich., during that city’s water crisis;
  • And, Professional Truck Driver John Lex, an America’s Road Team Captain and the Georgia Truck Driver of the Year. John has been a tremendous spokesman and a public face for America’s truck drivers for many years. He is a professional truck driver for Walmart Transportation.

The Mike Russell Trucking Image Awards are named in honor of the late Mike Russell, a trucking industry supporter and former ATA vice president of public affairs, and are sponsored by HireRight.