Trucking News Online

1988 Pete 379 Wins Best of Show at Shell Rotella SuperRigs

June 14, 2016 By: Trucking News Staff Tags: Fleet Management, Image, News
1988 Pete 379 Wins Best of Show at Shell Rotella SuperRigs

Jake Lindamood of Irving, Texas, captured Best of Show honors with his 1988 Peterbilt 379 at the 34th annual Shell Rotella SuperRigs competition held last weekend at the Joplin Convention & Trade Center in Joplin, Mo. He was awarded $10,000 from Shell Rotella and $5,000 from MAC trailer.

“We won Best of Show and got picked for the SuperRigs calendar, which was super exciting,” said Lindamood, “Winning Best of Show was huge and we are just beyond thrilled about it.”

Jay Blackbourn of Fennimore, Wis., won Best of Show first runner-up, $4,000 from Shell Rotella and $3,000 from MAC Trailer for his 2015 Peterbilt 389. Charles Self of Neosho, Mo., was awarded Best of Show second runner-up, $2,000 from Shell Rotella and $2,000 from MAC Trailer for his 2004 Peterbilt 379X.

The Shell Rotella SuperRigs competition is the premier truck beauty contest for actively working trucks. Owner/operator truckers from across the United States and Canada compete for cash and prizes valued at about $25,000. Twelve drivers were also selected to have their truck featured in the 2017 Shell Rotella SuperRigs calendar.

The highlight of the weekend was the Friday night truck parade through downtown Joplin. Thousands of area residents came to see the great-looking trucks and enjoy a concert by trucker and country music artist Tony Justice, along with a fireworks show.

First-place winners also included Paul Piretti of Springfield, Mo., in the Tractor/Trailer Division for his 2015 Peterbilt 389 Pride Class and 2015 Etnyre trailer; Joel Dawes of Waterford, Wis., in the Tractor Division with a 2014 T660 Kenworth; Billy Baker of St. Catherines, Ont., won in the Classic Division with his 2000 Kenworth W900L. The Hardest Working Trucker award went to Chad Berry of Medford, Wis., who drives a 2012 Peterbilt 386.

A record number of 89 trucks were judged during the weekend. The Limited Mileage and Non-Working/Show Truck categories were expanded to recognize three trucks in each division. Sam’s Club donated free one-year memberships to the Best of Show winners, the first and second place Tractor/Trailer, Tractor and Classic winners, the People’s Choice winner and Hardest Working Trucker.